Share |
Satellite City Maps - Google Map World Gazetteer
Use Satellite City Google Maps for driving directions, maps, route planner, or explore satellite photos of World places.
Date and time:
03/19/2019 |
Home » Asia map » Cyprus map »

Flag of Cyprus Google map of Republic of Cyprus, country facts

Welcome to the Google Map of Cyprus and the locations list of this country! Sightseeing in Cyprus with Google Satellite Map always make sense! With our destination gazetteer, on Satellite City is great to explore Cyprus through detailed satellite imagery - fast, free and easy as never before. Browse the list of administrative regions below of Cyprus and follow the navigation to find the place you are interested in. Your satellite map sightseeing in Cyprus starts here at Satellite City!

Cyprus Google Map is for informational use only, no representation is made or warranty given to its content. User assumes all risk of using free Cyprus Google Map on Satellite City In case you have any suggestion about Cyprus map, we are glad to hear about it!

Uploaded pictures of Cyprus

  • Default image
  • Default image
  • Default image
  • Default image
  • Default image

If you would like to upload some picture please, sign in!

Facts about Cyprus

Administrative divisions: 6 districts; Famagusta , Kyrenia , Larnaca , Limassol , Nicosia , Paphos; note - Turkish Cypriot area's administrative divisions include Kyrenia , all but a small part of Famagusta , and small parts of Lefkosia (Nicosia)
Area: total: 9 ,250 sq km (of which 3 ,355 sq km are in north Cyprus) land: 9 ,240 sq km water: 10 sq km
Background: A former British colony , Cyprus became independent in 1960 following years of resistance to British rule. Tensions between the Greek Cypriot majority and Turkish Cypriot minority came to a head in December 1963 , when violence broke out in the capital of Nicosia. Despite the deployment of UN peacekeepers in 1964 , sporadic intercommunal violence continued forcing most Turkish Cypriots into enclaves throughout the island. In 1974 , a Greek Government-sponsored attempt to seize control of Cyprus was met by military intervention from Turkey , which soon controlled more than a third of the island. In 1983 , the Turkish-held area declared itself the "Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus" (TRNC) , but it is recognized only by Turkey. The latest two-year round of UN-brokered talks - between the leaders of the Greek Cypriot and Turkish Cypriot communities to reach an agreement to reunite the divided island - ended when the Greek Cypriots rejected the UN settlement plan in an April 2004 referendum. The entire island entered the EU on 1 May 2004 , although the EU acquis - the body of common rights and obligations - applies only to the areas under direct government control , and is suspended in the areas administered by Turkish Cypriots. However , individual Turkish Cypriots able to document their eligibility for Republic of Cyprus citizenship legally enjoy the same rights accorded to other citizens of European Union states. The election of a new Cypriot president in 2008 served as the impetus for the UN to encourage both the Turkish and Cypriot Governments to reopen unification negotiations.
Flag description: white with a copper-colored silhouette of the island (the name Cyprus is derived from the Greek word for copper) above two green crossed olive branches in the center of the flag; the branches symbolize the hope for peace and reconciliation between the Greek and Turkish communities note: the "Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus" flag has a white field with narrow horizontal red stripes positioned a small distance from the top and bottom edges between which is centered a red crescent and a red five-pointed star
Capital: name: Nicosia (Lefkosia) geographic coordinates: 35 10 N , 33 22 E time difference: UTC+2 (7 hours ahead of Washington , DC during Standard Time) daylight saving time: +1hr , begins last Sunday in March; ends last Sunday in October
Climate: temperate; Mediterranean with hot , dry summers and cool winters
Currency code: Cypriot pound (CYP); euro (EUR) after 1 January 2008
Ethnic groups: Greek 77% , Turkish 18% , other 5% (2001)
Geographic coordinates: 35 00 N , 33 00 E
Geography note: the third largest island in the Mediterranean Sea (after Sicily and Sardinia)
Government type: republic note: a separation of the two ethnic communities inhabiting the island began following the outbreak of communal strife in 1963; this separation was further solidified after the Turkish intervention in July 1974 that followed a Greek junta-supported coup attempt gave the Turkish Cypriots de facto control in the north; Greek Cypriots control the only internationally recognized government; on 15 November 1983 Turkish Cypriot "President" Rauf DENKTASH declared independence and the formation of a "Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus" (TRNC) , which is recognized only by Turkey
Imports partners: Greece 17.7% , Italy 10.2% , UK 9.6% , Germany 9.4% , Israel 6.5% , France 5.4% , China 5.3% , Netherlands 4.1% (2007)
Internet country code: .cy
Land boundaries: 648 km
Neighbouring countries: total: 150.4 km (approximately) border sovereign base areas: Akrotiri 47.4 km , Dhekelia 103 km (approximately)
Languages: Greek , Turkish , English
Location: Middle East , island in the Mediterranean Sea , south of Turkey
Map references: Middle East
National holiday: Independence Day , 1 October (1960); note - Turkish Cypriots celebrate 15 November (1983) as Independence Day
Nationality: noun: Cypriot(s) adjective: Cypriot
Natural hazards: moderate earthquake activity; droughts
Population: 792 ,604 (July 2008 est.)
Religions: Greek Orthodox 78% , Muslim 18% , other (includes Maronite and Armenian Apostolic) 4%
Terrain: central plain with mountains to north and south; scattered but significant plains along southern coast
Unemployment rate: 3.9% (2007 est.)

Capital of Cyprus

Nicosia (click to view Nicosia Google map)

Comment Cyprus

There are no comments about Cyprus. Be the first one, send your impressions about Cyprus now!

E-mail will not be published!


Please verify you are a human - submit ONLY the GREY numbers shown on the image above!

Places in Cyprus

Browse the online directory of Satellite City for administrative regions in Cyprus below. Places in country Cyprus are sorted in alphabetical order from level 1 to level 2, eventually up to level 3 administrative regions. Click on the name of the place to view it on Google map, or with satellite images.

Famagusta District (107 + I Google map locations)
Kyrenia District (52 + I Google map locations)
Larnaca District (77 + I Google map locations)
Limassol District (120 + I Google map locations)
Nicosia District (186 + I Google map locations)
Paphos District (142 + I Google map locations)

Link to Cyprus Google Map page:

There is a very easy way how to link to our Cyprus map - including free Google map search, country, city maps and facts, Google route planner -, ready to use on your website. Please, simply copy & paste the provided HTML code into the source code of your page. Thank you for all links to Satellite City!

Text link to: Cyprus google map